Trekoro
Tanzania · 5,895 m · 14 operators · prices read 2026-09-15, not yet checked by a person

What Kilimanjaro, Lemosho route actually costs.

The price on an operator's website is not what you will spend. We compared 14 operators, added the costs each package leaves out, and put every number next to its source.

In short: Kilimanjaro, Lemosho route in 2027 costs from $3,209 to $5,910 per person all-in across the 14 operators we compare, with items an operator does not mention counted as extra. Package prices as published start from $2,504, for two people sharing a room. International flights are not counted. Prices were read from the operators' own pages, the newest on 2026-09-15.

Sticker price
$2,504$5,205
per person, as published
True cost
$3,209$5,910
with everything you still have to pay in Tanzania; items an operator does not mention are counted as extra
Hidden on top
$705
median, range $655$750; unstated items counted as extra
Operators
14
7 in Tanzania, 7 international

14 operators, sticker price against true cost

True cost is the package price plus what the package leaves out (flights, meals, hotel, porter, gear) plus what nobody includes (tips, insurance, visa, water and Wi-Fi). Per person, two people travelling together, twin share. International flights are not counted.

When an operator's page does not say whether something is included, we show a range: the lower figure assumes it is in the price, the upper figure adds it. 6 of 14 operators here leave at least one item unstated, worth up to $140. The list is sorted by the upper figure, so that nobody looks cheaper by saying less. You can change that under Sort.

Operator Days Sticker Hidden True cost   Included
Gladys Adventure and Safaris KPAP
Tanzania Moshi
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $2,504 $3,209
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Zara Tanzania Adventures
Tanzania Moshi · max 7
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $2,613 $3,318
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
African Scenic Safaris
Tanzania Moshi
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $2,710 $3,415
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Peak Planet KPAP
United States · max 12
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
9 $2,758 $3,418
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Climbing Kilimanjaro
Tanzania Arusha
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $2,890 $3,500 to $3,595
1 item not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Follow Alice
United Kingdom London
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,050 $3,705
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Team Kilimanjaro
Tanzania Arusha
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,169 $3,779 to $3,874
1 item not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Kandoo Adventures KPAP
United Kingdom
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,175 $3,880
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Kilimanjaro Sunrise KPAP
Tanzania Moshi · max 12
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,290 $4,040
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Ultimate Kilimanjaro
United States
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,299 $3,909 to $4,049
2 items not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
KE Adventure Travel
United Kingdom Keswick · max 14
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,705 $4,315 to $4,410
1 item not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Mountain Kingdoms
United Kingdom Wotton-under-Edge · max 12
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
11 $3,772
GBP 2,795
$4,382 to $4,477
1 item not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Altezza Travel KPAP
Tanzania Arusha
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $3,937 $4,642
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear
Exodus Adventure Travels KPAP
United Kingdom London
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
10 $5,205 $5,815 to $5,910
1 item not stated
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear

Your budget

Pick an operator, then make it yours: how you travel, how much you spend on the trail, what you need to rent. Everything the operator leaves out is already in, and the result is per person.

Gear you need to rent
Prices for the whole trip, from local rental shops. Ticked automatically when the package does not provide it, or does not say.
Estimated total per person
$0
about per day over days, flights excluded

What is actually in a price

These are the costs that decide whether a $1,300 package ends up cheaper than a $1,800 one. Figures are what we add when an operator does not include the item.

Kilimanjaro park fees
$1,109 per trip
8 days: conservation USD 70 a day, camping 50 a night for 7 nights, rescue 20, forest 10, plus 18 percent VAT, about USD 1,109 per climber source
Meals on the mountain
$40 per trek day
Rarely excluded on Kilimanjaro; cooked by the crew. Figure is the Nepal teahouse rate as a placeholder source
Lunch and dinner on the mountain
$25 per trek day
When only breakfast is in the package source
Hotel in Moshi
$40 per night
Mid-range hotels USD 60-80 a room with breakfast, twin share source
Airport transfers
$45 per trip
Private taxi JRO to Moshi USD 30-50 per vehicle each way, shared by two source
Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental
$95 per trip
Sleeping bag USD 50, down jacket 25, poles 20 for the climb source
Tips for guide, cook and porters
$45 per trek day
About USD 20 a day for the lead guide, 12 each for assistant guide and cook, 6 per porter, per group; roughly USD 45 per person per day for two with a crew of ten source
Travel insurance to 6,000 m
$200 per trip
Policy must cover trekking to 5,895 m and helicopter evacuation; USD 150-300 for two to three weeks source
Tanzania visa
$50 per trip
Single-entry tourist visa USD 50; US citizens pay USD 100 source

Official fees

FeeUSDAboutNote
Conservation fee, per person per day$70 source
Camping fee, per person per night$50 source
Rescue fee, once per climb$20 source
Forest fee, once per climb$1018 percent VAT comes on top of all fees. Crew entry is TZS 5,000 per person per climb. source

How we count

Sticker price is the lowest published price per person for two people sharing a room, taken from the operator's own website on the date shown. Where the operator publishes group-size tiers we use the tier for two. Sale prices are noted but the regular price is used.

Hidden cost is what you still pay after booking. If an item is not in the package we add the reference figure above. If the operator's page does not say, we show a range: the lower figure leaves the item out, the upper figure adds it, and the list is sorted by the upper figure. Tips, insurance, visa and daily extras are added for everyone because no package covers them.

Currencies. Operators publish in USD, GBP or EUR; we convert to your chosen currency at daily mid-market rates. Prices are "from" prices and change with season, group size and exchange rates. Check the operator's page before you book.

Independence. No operator has paid to be listed and there are no affiliate links on this page. If that changes it will say so here.