Trekoro
Nepal · 3,840 m · 10 operators · prices read 2026-09-15, not yet checked by a person

What Upper Mustang actually costs.

The price on an operator's website is not what you will spend. We compared 10 operators, added the costs each package leaves out, and put every number next to its source.

In short: Upper Mustang in 2027 costs from $1,898 to $3,330 per person all-in across the 10 operators we compare, with items an operator does not mention counted as extra. Package prices as published start from $1,460, for two people sharing a room. International flights are not counted. Prices were read from the operators' own pages, the newest on 2026-09-15.

Sticker price
$1,460$2,750
per person, as published
True cost
$1,898$3,330
with everything you still have to pay in Nepal; items an operator does not mention are counted as extra
Hidden on top
$583
median, range $438$1,132; unstated items counted as extra
Operators
10
10 in Nepal, 0 international

10 operators, sticker price against true cost

True cost is the package price plus what the package leaves out (flights, meals, hotel, porter, gear) plus what nobody includes (tips, insurance, visa, water and Wi-Fi). Per person, two people travelling together, twin share. International flights are not counted.

When an operator's page does not say whether something is included, we show a range: the lower figure assumes it is in the price, the upper figure adds it. 4 of 10 operators here leave at least one item unstated, worth up to $570. The list is sorted by the upper figure, so that nobody looks cheaper by saying less. You can change that under Sort.

Operator Days Sticker Hidden True cost   Included
Explore Vision Nepal
Nepal Kathmandu · max 15
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
13 $1,460 $1,898
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Discovery World Trekking
Nepal Kathmandu
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
15 $1,950 $2,492
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Nature Lovers Trek
Nepal Kathmandu
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
14 $1,899 $2,453 to $2,523
1 item not stated
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Nepal Eco Adventure
Nepal Kathmandu
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
14 $1,950 $2,466 to $2,536
1 item not stated
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Nepal Hiking Team
Nepal Kathmandu · max 10
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
16 $2,150 $2,634
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Outfitter Nepal
Nepal Kathmandu · max 10
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
17 $2,100 $2,732
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Sherpa Expedition & Trekking
Nepal Kathmandu · max 12
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
14 $2,490 $3,006
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Boundless Adventure
Nepal Kathmandu · max 16
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
17 $2,100 $2,662 to $3,232
3 items not stated
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Frolic Adventure
Nepal Kathmandu · max 16
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
19 $2,700 $3,314
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter
Ace the Himalaya
Nepal Kathmandu · max 14
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
16 $2,750 $3,260 to $3,330
1 item not stated
Transport Permits Meals Hotel Transfer Bag Porter

Your budget

Pick an operator, then make it yours: how you travel, how much you spend on the trail, what you need to rent. Everything the operator leaves out is already in, and the result is per person.

Gear you need to rent
Prices for the whole trip, from local rental shops. Ticked automatically when the package does not provide it, or does not say.
Estimated total per person
$0
about per day over days, flights excluded

What is actually in a price

These are the costs that decide whether a $1,300 package ends up cheaper than a $1,800 one. Figures are what we add when an operator does not include the item.

Restricted area permit and ACAP
$520 per trip
USD 50 per person per day in the restricted zone since the flat USD 500 was replaced; about 10 days for the classic loop, plus ACAP NPR 3,000 source
Hotel in Kathmandu or Pokhara
$45 per night
3-star, twin share, about USD 41-63 a night in Thamel source
Airport taxis
$14 per trip
Prepaid airport taxi about NPR 900 each way source
Sleeping bag and down jacket rental
$70 per trip
USD 35 each for the trek when not in the package source
Porter, shared by two
$10 per trek day
Porter about USD 20 a day, split between two trekkers source
Tips for guide and porter
$11 per trek day
USD 10-15 a day for the guide and 8-10 for the porter, shared by the group; about USD 11 per person per day for two source
Travel insurance to 6,000 m
$200 per trip
World Nomads Explorer or similar, USD 150-300 for two to three weeks; the standard plan stops at 3,000 m source
Nepal visa, 15 days
$30 per trip
Visa on arrival source
Nepal visa, 30 days
$50 per trip
Visa on arrival; needed for trips longer than 15 days source
Hot drinks, showers, charging
$15 per trek day
Daily extras budget USD 15-25 source
Flights and buses, Kathmandu to Jomsom and back
$380 per trip
Pokhara-Jomsom flight USD 165-177 each way plus tourist bus Kathmandu-Pokhara; by shared jeep USD 25-40 each way instead of flying source
Meals on trek
$30 per trek day
Annapurna-region teahouse rate of about USD 30 a day; Mustang lodges are on the higher side source
Lunch and dinner on trek
$20 per trek day
When only breakfast is in the package source

Official fees

FeeNPRAboutNote
Upper Mustang Restricted Area Permit, per day$50Replaced the flat USD 500 for 10 days. No day minimum; the two-person minimum was dropped in March 2026, a licensed guide through a registered agency is still required. source
Annapurna Conservation Area Permit (ACAP)3,000$22 source

How we count

Sticker price is the lowest published price per person for two people sharing a room, taken from the operator's own website on the date shown. Where the operator publishes group-size tiers we use the tier for two. Sale prices are noted but the regular price is used.

Hidden cost is what you still pay after booking. If an item is not in the package we add the reference figure above. If the operator's page does not say, we show a range: the lower figure leaves the item out, the upper figure adds it, and the list is sorted by the upper figure. Tips, insurance, visa and daily extras are added for everyone because no package covers them.

Currencies. Operators publish in USD, GBP or EUR; we convert to your chosen currency at daily mid-market rates. Prices are "from" prices and change with season, group size and exchange rates. Check the operator's page before you book.

Independence. No operator has paid to be listed and there are no affiliate links on this page. If that changes it will say so here.