What Kilimanjaro, Machame route actually costs.
The price on an operator's website is not what you will spend. We compared 14 operators, added the costs each package leaves out, and put every number next to its source.
In short: Kilimanjaro, Machame route in 2027 costs from $2,660 to $7,778 per person all-in across the 14 operators we compare, with items an operator does not mention counted as extra. Package prices as published start from $2,000, for two people sharing a room. International flights are not counted. Prices were read from the operators' own pages, the newest on 2026-09-15.
14 operators, sticker price against true cost
True cost is the package price plus what the package leaves out (flights, meals, hotel, porter, gear) plus what nobody includes (tips, insurance, visa, water and Wi-Fi). Per person, two people travelling together, twin share. International flights are not counted.
When an operator's page does not say whether something is included, we show a range: the lower figure assumes it is in the price, the upper figure adds it. 6 of 14 operators here leave at least one item unstated, worth up to $1,423. The list is sorted by the upper figure, so that nobody looks cheaper by saying less. You can change that under Sort.
| Operator | Days | Sticker | Hidden | True cost | Included | ||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
African Scenic Safaris
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,000 | $2,660 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
Group climb from USD 2,000; the page states an average climb cost of 2,577. Recommends tips of USD 20 guide, 12 assistants and cook, 5-7 per porter per day.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Gladys Adventure and Safaris KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,091 | $2,751 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
USD 2,091 for any group size on the open-group climbs. Private toilet and oxygen included; bring or rent a sleeping bag.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Zara Tanzania Adventures
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,256 | $2,916 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
Tiers: 2,475 solo, 2,256 for 2-5, 2,223 for 6-10, 2,165 for 11+. Two nights at the company's Springlands Hotel; three porters per hiker.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Peak Planet KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
8 | $2,459 | $3,074 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From-price for private departures; six days on the mountain. Guide ratio 1:2, sleeping cots, evacuation cover to 5,000 m.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Kandoo Adventures KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,695 | $3,355 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
GBP 1,999 or USD 2,695 for 2026-27, 2,825 in 2028. Support ratio about 4:1.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Team Kilimanjaro
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,767 |
$3,332 to $3,427
1 item not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $3,332, up to $3,427 if the 1 unstated item is extra. The operator may well include it; the page does not say. Ask about: Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental. Advantage level: 3,196 solo, 2,767 for 2, down to 2,523 for 8. Lite is 2,489 and Superlite 1,946 for two. Two Arusha hotel nights and transfers included.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Climbing Kilimanjaro
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,800 |
$3,365 to $3,460
1 item not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $3,365, up to $3,460 if the 1 unstated item is extra. The operator may well include it; the page does not say. Ask about: Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental. Group price; private on request. Hotel in Arusha, nights not stated, assumed two. Portable toilet and oxygen included.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Intrepid Travel
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
8 | $2,940 |
$3,555 to $3,600
1 item not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $3,555, up to $3,600 if the 1 unstated item is extra. The operator may well include it; the page does not say. Ask about: Airport transfer. Six days on the mountain, one guide per two climbers, sleeping bag hire on request. Arrival transfer not stated.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Follow Alice
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,990 | $3,600 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
Two lodge nights with breakfast and dinner, four-season sleeping bag and private toilet per eight climbers included; airport transfer is USD 40 extra.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Kilimanjaro Sunrise KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,999 | $3,704 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
Private only on Machame: 3,799 solo, 2,999 for 2, 2,799 for 3, down to 2,499 for 8+. Airport transfers and sleeping bag not in the price.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Altezza Travel KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $3,351 | $4,011 | Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
Full table: 4,266 solo, 3,351 for 2, 3,072 for 3, down to 2,657 for 8+. Two hotel nights, transfers, oxygen and satellite phone included.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Ultimate Kilimanjaro
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $2,989 |
$3,554 to $4,942
4 items not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $3,554, up to $4,942 if the 4 unstated items are extra. The operator may well include them; the page does not say. Ask about: Kilimanjaro park fees; Meals on the mountain; Airport transfer; Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental. Private climb price including two hotel nights. Park fees, meals and transfers are not itemised on the route page, so the true cost is a floor.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Earth's Edge KPAP
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
10 |
$4,504 EUR 3,899
|
$5,069 to $5,164
1 item not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $5,069, up to $5,164 if the 1 unstated item is extra. The operator may well include it; the page does not say. Ask about: Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental. Land only in EUR with an expedition doctor and a training weekend in Ireland. Sleeping bag not stated.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Thomson Treks
Read by our system 2026-09-15
Not yet checked by a person
|
9 | $5,790 |
$6,355 to $7,778
4 items not stated
|
Park fees Meals Hotel Transfer Gear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Per person, two travelling, twin share
From $6,355, up to $7,778 if the 4 unstated items are extra. The operator may well include them; the page does not say. Ask about: Kilimanjaro park fees; Meals on the mountain; Hotel before and after, 2 nights; Sleeping bag, jacket and poles rental. 2027 price USD 5,290 plus a 500 surcharge for groups of 2-3, so 5,790 for two; 4,990 for December 2026. VAT is charged on top. Inclusions are not itemised on the page.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
No operator matches these filters.
Your budget
Pick an operator, then make it yours: how you travel, how much you spend on the trail, what you need to rent. Everything the operator leaves out is already in, and the result is per person.
What is actually in a price
These are the costs that decide whether a $1,300 package ends up cheaper than a $1,800 one. Figures are what we add when an operator does not include the item.
Official fees
How we count
Sticker price is the lowest published price per person for two people sharing a room, taken from the operator's own website on the date shown. Where the operator publishes group-size tiers we use the tier for two. Sale prices are noted but the regular price is used.
Hidden cost is what you still pay after booking. If an item is not in the package we add the reference figure above. If the operator's page does not say, we show a range: the lower figure leaves the item out, the upper figure adds it, and the list is sorted by the upper figure. Tips, insurance, visa and daily extras are added for everyone because no package covers them.
Currencies. Operators publish in USD, GBP or EUR; we convert to your chosen currency at daily mid-market rates. Prices are "from" prices and change with season, group size and exchange rates. Check the operator's page before you book.
Independence. No operator has paid to be listed and there are no affiliate links on this page. If that changes it will say so here.